Posted on

If this doesn’t motivate you , I don’t know what will…

I saw a re-tweet on Twitter from an article about a man who lost nearly 400 lbs due to inspiration and encouragement he received from someone he met online. The article can be read here:

http://wgntv.com/2014/04/28/man-loses-nearly-400-pounds-after-meeting-inspiring-friend-online/

I will admit that due to the debilitating pain I have been dealing with for the past month or so (with last week being the worst week for me), I have not had much motivation. I went to physical therapy on Friday and wasn’t able to do my normal 12 minutes on the NuStep recumbent bike. I got to 8 and a half and that was all I could do. My left knee is starting to give me more trouble than normal, even with 30 lbs gone. I have been hobbling everywhere I go. I have iced and heated my knee with no relief. I have used BioFreeze on my knee and it keeps swelling up and popping. I have no clue where this is coming from. It has made me feel despair, anguish and anger that I won’t be able to get further in my goals. I know it’s just a bump in the road but a massive bump, pothole…and I don’t want to deal with getting a knee replaced just yet so I am hoping that I can strengthen my ankles up enough to walk more.

I haven’t been to my gym since March 12th. My work-outs have consisted of physical therapy recumbent bike work outs and walking here and there. The larger part of it is due to lack of time and no vehicle (my boyfriend and I share one vehicle and that vehicle has to now have its damn transmission checked – BRAND NEW CAR too…thank god for warranty but really? I digress). And it is also in large part of the fear of the pain. When I work out on the recumbent bike, my left ankle mostly is the one that is bothered, the outside of it, since I pronate when I walk, my ankles are very weak. I have to get back, but finding the time right now with my busy schedule is very hard. So I need to do more walking or whatever else I can do.

I don’t want to gain the weight back. I want to take an additional 30 lbs off…I want to continue to see results. Seeing that article gives me hope that I can get it done. It’s just a matter of getting my crap together. For one, by stopping with eating the wrong foods, which I have been for the past week, and two, by getting more activity in. I am no longer really monitoring my carb intake, instead watching what I eat and how much of it I eat. I haven’t been using my MFP app either. I want to see if I can continue to lose weight by doing that instead of low-carbing. But I need to do it, lol.

About Mommy Needs a Valium

A California girl stuck in the Pacific Northwest.

Leave a Reply

