Posted on

Good and bad news

Good news first? I finally signed up with a gym. Bad news? I haven’t worked out yet. Signed up on Saturday, which proved to be a busy day. Was stood up by a friend who was to meet me for coffee. Later on told that she thought we were getting together on Sunday. I roll my eyes because this isn’t the first time it has happened. It will be the last. I am tired of trying, and find myself facing this with 80% of my “friends” (mostly former colleagues) who whine about how they miss me, only to bail on me or not show up at all when we make plans. I can’t stand flaky people.

But I digress.

More bad news. I think the crud is coming back. I woke up feeling really icky, it started last night after the Superbowl ended. My friend brought her German Shepard over, but I am not allergic to dogs, and I don’t have a problem with pet dander, and her dog is well groomed (despite her being a total furbeast! But I do love my niece, yes, I call her my niece). I woke up with a ton of sinus pressure and sore throat and coughing. So yeah, the crud is back. I am on Mucinex, Zyrtec, and used my Astepro nasal spray to combat this. So far no relief except for a icky woozy feeling. I have also had to use my rescue inhaler, which is a steroid – Symbicort. When my allergies kick up, so does the asthma I just developed a year and a half ago. I am dreading Spring and the grass pollen I am allergic to, but I am having issues with breathing now, so Symbicort had to be used, and helped immediately. I originally was on Qvar, but I don’t find it helps as much as Symbicort does, so I have to talk to my allergist about that.

Between feeling sick and trying to stay on the plan and path to committed weight loss, I am starting to feel overwhelmed as my work duties and work load have just gotten a bit more intense, with trainings and new responsibilities (which I am glad to take on, because monotony kills me). I am concerned about what time will be left for me to work out, when I will work out, and if I will be able to use the recumbent bike. I opted for a gym in my town with a small amount of recumbent bikes, because I simply do not want to drive out of my way to work out. I hope I can get a momentum going because right now I am completely overwhelmed with everything. Things never slow down in my life, it’s par for the course.

About Mommy Needs a Valium

A California girl stuck in the Pacific Northwest.

9 responses to “Good and bad news

  1. I believe you can fly, I believe you can touch the SKY!!! YES, YOU CAN! Yes you can! Going to the gym, is your VALIUM, your stress relief. Just do it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What is up with at flu that you’ve caught? Its been about 2 months, hasn’t it? I don’t know how you’re doing it. I don’t think I could stay on plan while being that sick. I hope that you get better soon!

    • It’s been a month now…and it’s turned into this full-blown sinus thing. I’ve been on Mucinex to suppress the cough, and now I am a living breeding snot factory. My nose is so raw and red. It’s been miserable. I picked up Sudafed Max Strength last night. Well, my boyfriend did. It’s a miserable time.

  3. I’m so proud of you. You’re an inspiration!!!

Leave a Reply

