Posted on

Time to stop avoiding it and go to the doctor…

After a discussion with a colleague, who had the same thing and found out she had bronchitis, I decided to set up an appointment with my doctor to find out if there is something more than what I am going through. I have been sick since the beginning of this month and I am not 100%. When I start feeling good, I get back to feeling worse. Now I am coughing so much I cannot sleep. I am going to get Mucinex today, but maybe I need antibiotics. I don’t know. I know that the flu and a horrible strain of it is going around and I need to make sure that I find out what is wrong before it turns into something worse.

My symptoms: sore throat, achy body, no fever though. Headaches, sinus pressure at times (which is why I think it’s just viral, this is a common problem of mine), some post-nasal drip, coughing, sometimes coughing up green stuff (this just started yesterday). Also, while my stomach is mostly healed, I am having a problem with bloat and umm…gas. Of course it probably doesn’t help that I ate bell peppers for supper last night. Oops. I love bell peppers and they’re low-carb friendly.

Yesterday I did okay calorie wise but my carbs were bad. Today I will land around 42 grams so long as I stay on the path, but only 128 grams of protein. I’ll take it.

With this doctor visit comes a weigh-in. I am dreading it. I won’t hold much weight to it as their scale seems to be off by 8 pounds less than my weight loss doctor’s office (which is what I will base my progress on). Still…if I show myself above what I was at pre-holiday season, I will know. Then again, it could be wrong, so I will wait until Friday til I go to my weight loss doctor to see the true number. Unfortunately I will not be able to get an early morning weight as my appointment is in the later afternoon, but it is what it is.

I need to stop over-analyzing this and get better…sigh.

About Mommy Needs a Valium

A California girl stuck in the Pacific Northwest.

One response to “Time to stop avoiding it and go to the doctor…

  1. That bug is hanging around too long! I’d have it checked and get meds for it. It’s got to be tough trying to stay focused on a plan, while feeling bad for so long. I hope that you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

