Posted on

In sickness and in health

Whatever this is that I am going through is a daily thing for me. Sometimes I feel good, most of the time I feel crappy. I have done all I can to offset the nastiness of this flu/crud/bug/whatever it is, but I feel I am pretty limited at this point and will just continue doing what I have been doing, mostly avoiding the office for the pure and simple fact that the germs are there and I do not want to give anyone who might be healthy whatever this is that I have. Last time I was in office two weeks ago, a colleague who has a cubicle in front of me was coughing and not covering her cough. I cannot begin to repeat the importance of covering your cough anywhere you go, but particularly in an office environment where there is stale, recycled office air. It’s just common sense. Shortly after that is when my descent in this madness started. I was already there with a semi-cold, but this just pushed it to its limit. 

I think about the flu shot and why I get it, year after year, and why I continue to get it. I am not looking to start a debate here and note to readers: I will not approve or engage in a debate. Like I said, this is my opinion. Anyway, I think it is safe to say that I might just skip my flu shot in November. If this is what I am going through, I see no point to getting a flu shot. 

Despite the sickness, I have my doctor appointments for this week already scheduled out. The exercise assessment as well as a follow up with my doctor about my weight loss plan. I will be letting him know there and then that I am no longer requiring the services of their bariatric nurse who doubles as their nutritionist, because I simply cannot get on board with her recommendations and I cannot put my nutritional needs based off of a plan from someone who is shoving chemical-laden protein drinks down my throat. I will work with an actual nutritionist. A friend of mine who is certified and won’t cost me a dime. I am hoping for a weight loss or steady weight, but I fear I have gained some weight. I will find out on Friday. Between the holidays and my sickness and lack of following my nutrition plan, I hope the damage isn’t too bad and I really hope I have not gained back a lot of the weight I have lost.

I am watching my carb intake but not terribly strict with it due to the illness. My goal is under 100 grams of carbs daily, which is still very high for me, but right now my health depends on certain foods, and those foods are carb-heavy, unfortunately. Ideally I would like to be doing 60-80, but I know that is not an option. I am still watching my calorie intake, so I hope that offsets the carb intake. 

About Mommy Needs a Valium

A California girl stuck in the Pacific Northwest.

7 responses to “In sickness and in health

  1. I’m sorry to hear that you’re still I’ll. Its difficult to focus on weight loss when you’re wiped out. Best of luck with the new nutritionist!

  2. Sorry about your illness. I hope you can get over it soon. I agree with your decision not to feed your body with chemicals.

  3. I’m sending you a virtual hug to boost your immune system. You are missed more than you will ever know:-)

Leave a Reply

