Posted on

Worst stomach bug ever…(warning: graphic if you have a queasy stomach)

What started as what I thought was food poisoning on Sunday night is actually a stomach bug that has a duration of 10-14 days. Right now I am experiencing severe abdominal cramping, amongst other nasty things (erm, bowel issues). It seems to be slowing down now, but this morning was the worst I had felt since Monday morning. Sunday night I made my cabbage soup and ate that for dinner, and then had those cutie oranges for dessert. I thought I had overeaten, but what turned into what I thought was overeating was actually a stomach bug (first mistaken for food poisoning). Later into the evening the worst stomach cramps imaginable, five to six sets of vomiting until there were nothing but bile coming up, then bowel issues. I slept a lot on Monday (called sick into work), then Tuesday seemed to be good, then I woke up this morning and I felt worse. It has been a slow healing process.

I called my doctor’s office to see if I should come in as my problems were not easing up, but they advised me that there is nothing they can do for a viral stomach bug, and that it is going around right now. The duration is 10-14 days, which made me cringe. I hope it is shorter for me, but still. It makes life a bit miserable and I cannot follow my nutrition plan as I am following the dreaded BRAT (Bananas, Rice, Applesauce, Toast) diet to keep things in check. A lot of toast. A lot of carbs. But in order to get well, I have to do this. As it is, it isn’t like I have much of an appetite anyhow, and frankly speaking, I am almost scared to eat.

My boyfriend ended up with this at the same time, but he seems to be doing better. My daughter had a bout of it on Friday night, which I also mistook for food poisoning, but she is better now. I know that it’s flu season and that there is a lot of illness going around. I’d rather have the actual flu than this…this is for the birds.

The only upside to this, is hopefully I will have lost my holiday weight! Ha ha.

About Mommy Needs a Valium

A California girl stuck in the Pacific Northwest.

3 responses to “Worst stomach bug ever…(warning: graphic if you have a queasy stomach)

  1. That sounds awful! Do what you have to do, then get back on the wagon later. That’s a really long time to have to deal with something like that.

    I hope that you get better soon!

Leave a Reply

