Posted on

Cravings

The cravings for starchy foods is killing me. I woke up this morning craving a Filipino dish I make called Bibingka. It is made with Mochiko rice flour, brown sugar, butter, milk, and shredded coconut and is baked into a cake. The buttery ooey gooey goodness is enough to tempt anyone, but if you have texture issues, it might be something you would avoid as it’s a different texture. Spongy isn’t quite the way to describe. Mushy either. Rice flour is a different beast. That being said, I am craving it so bad it’s ridiculous. I am definitely a weak one when it comes to cake, but when it comes to this, I am ridiculous. I could eat the whole damn pan in a day or two if I wanted to. I don’t even want to think about it.

Right now things are not going so well for me on the food front. No matter how hard I try I seem to fail at keeping myself below 60 grams, hell, even 80 grams of carbs a day. I feel bloated, puffy and like I have gained weight. The holidays are not easy when it comes to weight loss, or trying to stick to a nutrition plan, and I am not throwing it out the door completely, but at the same time, I am trying to be realistic in my expectations of keeping up with eating low-carb during this time. My first holiday on a low-carb, high-protein plan and it is not going well. I mean, we had Thanksgiving and I did fairly well, but this is for the birds.

Part of the problem is I think that my metabolism has finally kicked in, because I am CONSTANTLY hungry. I am even waking up hungry sometimes. That is a definite good sign. I have got to try to keep up with what I am doing because I don’t want to fall too far back.

I can tell you one thing – being on this plan I have switched to all white meats (I hate fish so I don’t eat it), and yesterday and Saturday I consumed red meat. Two days of red meat really put my tummy to the test and I now realize WHY I don’t eat it often. I am trying to boost my iron levels. Yeah I know leafy greens and liver, gizzards are good for that, but those are two things I can’t stand. I am a VERY picky eater. I’d like to see some improvement in not bruising so often. I wake up and find myself bruised up and wondering where it came from, and all I can think of is The Conjuring and wonder if we have a demon in our home. 

Speaking of supplements, I picked up some Biotin (5000 mcg?) as my nails and hair are a hot ass mess right now. Hopefully that will help as well. The Magnesium is doing nothing for the leg cramps. I think it’s time to switch to Potassium…

About Mommy Needs a Valium

A California girl stuck in the Pacific Northwest.

2 responses to “Cravings

  1. It’s going to be tough for many of us to get through the holidays. I can’t wait until January 2nd for that reason. Try loading up on protein, especially at breakfast. Watch for anything containing wheat, that will cause more cravings. It’s almost over! Hang in there!!!
    Rob

Leave a Reply

