Posted on

Progesterone trap

Last night I took progesterone against medical advice, and ended up waking up in the middle of the night again and not getting enough sleep, but today I don’t feel hostile or agitated, so I have to wonder if the pros outweigh the cons. It’s hard telling. I have been doing my research on Progesterone usage and the side effects and the one I am truly concerned about is weight gain. This is not conducive to the program I am on, however, I trust my physician’s judgment as he is overseeing my weight loss program as well.

I received an email from my doctor who put in a rx for a lowered dose of Progesterone – dropping from 200 mg to 100 mg. I also asked him about taking it during the morning or afternoon instead of before bed, or if that would create daytime sleepiness. Hopefully this will help. The only other side effect I am seeing today is…umm, bowel issues, to put it mildly. Hopefully the lower dosage will stop those issues as well.

Today I am back on track with the diet and will have consumed 45 carbs if I stick to the plan today. I’m dealing with some nasty acid reflux so right now I have no appetite. I find when I am dealing with GERD I don’t want to eat at all. It sucks.

 

About Mommy Needs a Valium

A California girl stuck in the Pacific Northwest.

Leave a Reply

