Posted on

Keto Flu

So it looks like what I have been dealing with is what is known as “Keto Flu”. Today I felt halfway normal, with the exception of some tummy troubles, no thanks to leftover KFC from the night before (just chicken, no sides!). Not a smart idea. But no real bad headaches, no dizziness, no feeling faint. However, I am still weak and dealing with a ton of brain fog at the moment. I hope THAT passes.

With that, I want to say that my cravings for carbs are becoming fewer and fewer. I am still unable to keep my carbs under 60. Most of the time it’s in the 80-ish range, and I am fine with that. I am pretty sure my bariatric nurse would disagree and maybe it would impede my approval for the bariatric surgery if I choose to go that route, but in the long run, if 45-60 grams of carbs doesn’t work for me, I am not going to push it. I will do what I can. I don’t think 80 is too high or too much to ask for. Could I deal with less? Absolutely. This is a good starting point. Maybe as time goes by I can decrease my carb intake.

Also, I must say that it does irk me to think that my nurse seems to really be pushing the lower lower end of the carb count, and while I understand it’s for aggressive weight loss, I wish she would understand that I JUST started this program and my body is not used to the lower amount of carbs that I am taking in. It’s been about two weeks now and two weeks of hell, but I am JUST starting to feel a bit better. I only hope this continues and that I won’t feel as weak so I can exercise regularly again.

On the upside to this, something I am becoming more and more aware of is the true value of nutrition in foods. When I see something that looks absolutely mouth-watering, I pause and wonder how many carbohydrates are in it. How much sugar is in it. Then I realize that it cannot work for me because it isn’t part of my diet plan. When I go out and need to figure out what to eat, I have my MFP handy to help me determine what I can safely eat. This is becoming my life on a daily basis. This is the lifestyle change that I have been wanting to implement for so long but did not have the tools to do so. There is progress, and that is a perfect example of it.

That being said, Saturdays will still be my cheat day, but I have limited myself to no more than 150 grams of carbs with one major treat for the day. My treat for this Saturday is something I have been wanting to try – An Eggnog Chai from Starbucks. In a tall size. I can’t even drink a Grande anymore and for me that is a HUGE deal! Small steps, and it’s paying off. With my luck, I am going to hate the Eggnog Chai…but it will be worth the wait. I haven’t had one drop of Eggnog yet, and if you know me, you know how much I love my Eggnog. 

Now the holidays are next, and I have said I wanted those days to be my “free” days, but I’m not so sure anymore. One step at a time…

About Mommy Needs a Valium

A California girl stuck in the Pacific Northwest.

One response to “Keto Flu

  1. Glad you’re feeling better.

Leave a Reply

