Posted on

Blustery Fall Day

On this type of day I would love to just snuggle up under a blanket and watch stupid movies with my boyfriend and daughter, eat comfort food (Potato Leek soup), maybe some Apple Pie, and drink hot cocoa. Being on this nutrition plan doesn’t allow for those foods, my boyfriend has to work, and my daughter is hanging out with her friend until we leave for a friend’s son’s birthday party. Fall = time for comfort food, staying indoors and sleeping a lot.

I am still struggling with this low-carb nutrition plan, mostly with the low amount of carbs that I can have daily and what I can and can’t eat. I want to cheat because it is the weekend, but the better half of me is not allowing myself to because of how hard I have worked to follow through with this nutrition plan even through the worst of times (Halloween, I am looking at you). I have designated “cheat times”, such as the holidays, but I don’t think it’s necessary for me to allow myself to lose it on the weekends. That’s not conducive to weight loss and changing my lifestyle. This has definitely been a hell of an undertaking for me. I want to see the light at the end of the tunnel but so far I haven’t. I feel like I am not losing much, and am trying to be more active than normal, and even then, I still feel like I am getting nowhere. I know it takes time, and I know results don’t happen overnight, and I remind myself of this every day.

From what I researched and was told, with an aggressive weight loss nutrition plan alone, I will drop water weight first. That would be a great relief as I have a lot of water weight to lose. I am hoping it will help with some of the Lymphedema issues I am dealing with, both in my abdominal area and my legs. I guess time will tell. It’s only in the baby stages at this point.

In the meanwhile I have a lot of research I need to do in terms of low-carb choices and what I can do to up my repertoire of food choices because I am completely burnt out on protein shakes, chicken breast, salad, greek yogurt, egg whites. This is just…dull. I need to wait until next payday to do some serious grocery shopping (Costco), but I plan on picking up tuna for tuna salad (instead of bread using romaine lettuce to wrap it in or eat as a salad), string cheese, maybe some turkey burgers for lunch or dinner, some low-glycemic veggies I can snack on, they also have Optimum Nutrition ready to drink milk chocolate protein shakes on sale so I will buy that as well. I need more options so I don’t feel so limited. I think this is a huge part of my problem.

Speaking of the ready to drink protein shake products, I haven’t had tummy troubles in the past few days as I have limited myself on them and am trying to rely on the direct source for protein. I also picked up my compounded prescription of progesterone (in natural, not synthetic) from the pharmacy and am hoping that will help aid with my depression and weight loss as well. 

Hopefully I will find that light at the end of the tunnel.

About Mommy Needs a Valium

A California girl stuck in the Pacific Northwest.

4 responses to “Blustery Fall Day

  1. southernhon ⋅

    Great ideas on changing up your protein options!! You rock!!

  2. weight2lose2013 ⋅

    Be wary of the low carb shakes/protein drinks. I’ve had stalls in the past. The low carb bars have the same effect on me.

    Good luck!

Leave a comment